How It All Began

The history of Technorama is closely linked to the former industrial city of Winterthur. Many of the company names like Rieter Machine Works, the Hard Mechanical Spinning Mill or the Johann Jacob Sulzer Iron Foundry, which subsequently became the major Sulzer enterprise, are only now known as bus stops.

Today Technorama is the first science centre in Switzerland and one of the largest in Europe. Its unique offer of exhibitions, shows and labs fosters interest in natural phenomena with amazing experiences. Enthusiasm and understanding for scientific and technical issues.

1947

As early as 1947, an organisation was established for the foundation of a technical museum for Switzerland. Objects of historical interest were collected primarily from the stocks of industrial companies located in the city of Winterthur and the "golden triangle" of Swiss mechanical engineering – Winterthur, Zurich and Baden.

1969

On 26 June 1969, a foundation called TECHNORAMA OF SWITZERLAND was set up with the intended purpose of establishing "an educational institution which would present science and technology in a living exhibition (…)" in the form of a museum exhibition. The aim was, in turn, to enable the public at large to have direct experimental contact with these themes.

1982

1982 saw the opening of an exhibition in Technorama, modelled after conventional, technical museums and comprised of sundry industrial artefacts, ranging from steam engines and devices for testing materials to music boxes. The collection was supplemented with information panels and an audio-visual "superstructure". With it, Technorama achieved a certain degree of fame, for instance, with the "Spitlight", the world's largest slide projector.

1984

In 1984, the "Phenomena" science exhibition was held in Zurich. Following the didactic principles of the German educationalist Hugo Kükelhaus, the exhibition presented approximately 200 natural phenomena and experiments involving water, mechanics, acoustics, light and colour, many of which were in the form of sensory hands-on exhibits. Due to its success, the exhibition was subsequently presented in South Africa, in the Netherlands, in Germany and then again in Zurich and attracted more than 5.4 million visitors.

1985

But even this 18-metre-long monstrosity designed by the Ticinese tinkerer and aircraft engineer Gianni Andreoli was not able to circumvent the fact that fewer and fewer visitors were interested in obsolete installations and machines. In 1985, as the number of visitors continued to decline almost completely, Technorama faced serious financial troubles and bankruptcy.

1990

The former director of Technorama Remo Besio (1940 -2016) was also enthusiastic about phenomena. In June 1990, a new mission statement was adopted which, on the one hand, was based on Hugo Kükelhaus's principles and, on the other hand, took up the idea behind the Anglo-Saxon science centres, in particular the Exploratorium in San Francisco. Inspired by Frank Oppenheimer (USA), Richard Gregory, Steven Pizzey (both UK) and based on the comprehensive collection of technical reports and evaluations from the American Association of Science and Technology Centers ASTC, steps would be taken to gradually transform Technorama into an interactive science centre.

2000

By 2000, the technical museum was systematically transformed into a science center. In November 2013, the name was officially changed from "Foundation Technorama of Switzerland, Science and Technology in a Living Exhibition" to the "Swiss Science Center Technorama". Since then Technorama has been a diverse and atmospheric experimental exhibition dedicated to learning with a strong element of play.

2003

This reorientation led not only to an encouraging increase in the number of visitors, but also to a sharp increase in the number of youth visiting, including pre-school age children. The Youth Lab, which canton Zurich had furnished and operated in 1982 as a supplement to the Technorama museum, was organizationally affiliated with Technorama in 2003.

2012

In a further stage of development, this Youth Lab was refurbished in 2012, allowing for a significant expansion of its exisiting offerings. In the Swiss Science Center, there are now seven labs – two each for biology, chemistry and physics labs, supplemented by an atelier with workbenches for workshops geared towards a more constructive approach. Some 70,000 students visit Technorama within the framework of a class trip every year, making it the largest out-of-school learning institution for the sciences in Switzerland. With its offerings in the exhibitions and labs, it shapes the manner in which the sciences are appreciated, learned and taught in Switzerland.

Genèse

L'histoire du Technorama est étroitement liée à celle de l'ancienne ville industrielle de Winterthour. Beaucoup ne connaissent plus que comme arrêts de bus des noms d'entreprises telles que la fabrique de machines Rieter & Cie., la filature mécanique du Hard ou la fonderie de fer Johann Jakob Sulzer, qui devait devenir plus tard le groupe Sulzer.

Le Technorama est aujourd'hui le premier centre scientifique de Suisse et l'un des plus importants en Europe. Sa panoplie d'expositions, de présentations et de laboratoires est absolument unique et éveille au travers d'expériences époustouflantes en lien avec des phénomènes naturels l'intérêt, l'enthousiasme et la compréhension à l'égard de problématiques scientifiques et techniques.

1947

Dès 1947, une association pour la fondation d'un musée de la technique suisse voit le jour. Elle commence à collecter d'intéressants objets d'un point de vue historique, constitués pour une large part de machines et d'appareils obsolètes dont se défont les entreprises industrielles implantées dans la région et dans l'ancien «triangle d'or» de la construction suisse de machines, entre Winterthour, Zurich et Baden.

1969

Le 26 juin 1969, une fondation est créée sous la désignation TECHNORAMA DER SCHWEIZ, dont l'objectif consiste à exposer «les sciences et les techniques dans le cadre d'une présentation vivante», un principe destiné à se concrétiser sous la forme d'une institution éducative permettant à un vaste public d'aborder les thèmes sélectionnés au moyen d'une expérimentation directe.

1982

Sur le modèle des musées techniques conventionnels, le Technorama a présenté en 1982 une exposition réunissant tout type d'artéfacts industriels, des machines à vapeur jusqu'aux boîtes à musique, en passant par les appareils pour l'essai des matériaux. La collection a été complétée par des panneaux de présentation et une «superstructure» audiovisuelle. C'est ainsi que le Technorama a connu des instants de gloire, par exemple avec le Spitlight, le plus grand projecteur pour diapositives au monde.

1984

L'exposition Phänomena est une exposition de sciences naturelles qui a eu lieu pour la première fois en 1984 à Zurich. Fidèle aux principes didactiques du pédagogue allemand Hugo Kükelhaus, elle montrait quelque 200 phénomènes naturels et expériences sur les thèmes de l'eau, de la mécanique, de l'acoustique, de la lumière et de la couleur; beaucoup sous forme d'objets sensoriels hands-on. En raison de son succès, l'exposition a été présentée plus tard en Afrique du Sud, aux Pays-Bas, en Allemagne et de nouveau à Zurich. Elle a comptabilisé près de 5,4 millions de visiteurs dans le monde.

1985

Mais même ce monstre de 18 mètres de long du bricoleur tessinois et ingénieur en aéronautique Gianni Andreoli n'a pu empêcher la baisse de fréquentation, les visiteurs s'intéressant de moins en moins aux vieilles installations et machines. En 1985, le Technorama a manqué connaître la faillite.

1990

L'ancien directeur du Technorama Remo Besio (1940 -2016) a lui aussi réagi avec beaucoup d'enthousiasme à la Phänomena. Une nouvelle ligne directrice a été adoptée en juin 1990, qui s'inspirait des principes fondamentaux de Hugo Kükelhaus mais reprenait aussi les axes principaux des centres scientifiques anglo-saxons, en particulier de l'Exploratorium de San Francisco. La transformation successive du Technorama en un musée des sciences interactif repose sur les considérations de Frank Oppenheimer (États-Unis), Richard Gregory et Steven Pezey (tous les deux du Royaume-Uni) ainsi que sur une collection complète de rapports et d'évaluations de l'ASTC (Association of Science and Technology Centers) établie aux États-Unis.

2000

La transformation prévue d'un musée technique en un Science Center a pu être achevée avec brio en l'an 2000. En novembre 2013, le changement de nom a été rendu public et la «Fondation Technorama de Suisse proposant une représentation vivante des sciences et des techniques» est devenue le «Swiss Science Center Technorama». Depuis lors, le Technorama se veut une exposition d'expériences variée et animée incitant à l'apprentissage ludique.

2003

Cette nouvelle orientation est heureusement saluée par un accroissement du nombre des visiteurs et, considération plus importante encore, par un accroissement vertigineux de la fréquentation des jeunes et des enfants, jusqu'aux bambins d'âge préscolaire. Le Laboratoire de la Jeunesse, aménagé et exploité par le canton de Zurich en 1982 pour compléter le Technorama muséal, a été rattaché à ce dernier en 2003 sur le plan organisationnel.

2012

Dans une nouvelle étape d'aménagement, ce Laboratoire de la Jeunesse a été transformé en 2012, voyant ainsi s'élargir considérablement les offres qu'il abritait. Le Swiss Science Center comprend désormais sept laboratoires - respectivement deux de biologie, chimie et physique ainsi qu'un espace avec des établis pour les ateliers davantage axés sur la construction. Avec chaque année 70 000 écoliers visitant le Technorama dans le cadre d'une excursion scolaire, ce dernier est passé au rang de plus grand centre pédagogique extra-scolaire de Suisse. Avec ses offres dans les expositions et les laboratoires, il participe de la perception, de l'apprentissage et de la transmission des sciences naturelles en Suisse.