How It All Began

The history of Technorama is closely linked to the former industrial city of Winterthur. Many of the company names like Rieter Machine Works, the Hard Mechanical Spinning Mill or the Johann Jacob Sulzer Iron Foundry, which subsequently became the major Sulzer enterprise, are only now known as bus stops.

Today Technorama is the first science centre in Switzerland and one of the largest in Europe. Its unique offer of exhibitions, shows and labs fosters interest in natural phenomena with amazing experiences. Enthusiasm and understanding for scientific and technical issues.

1947

As early as 1947, an organisation was established for the foundation of a technical museum for Switzerland. Objects of historical interest were collected primarily from the stocks of industrial companies located in the city of Winterthur and the "golden triangle" of Swiss mechanical engineering – Winterthur, Zurich and Baden.

1969

On 26 June 1969, a foundation called TECHNORAMA OF SWITZERLAND was set up with the intended purpose of establishing "an educational institution which would present science and technology in a living exhibition (…)" in the form of a museum exhibition. The aim was, in turn, to enable the public at large to have direct experimental contact with these themes.

1982

1982 saw the opening of an exhibition in Technorama, modelled after conventional, technical museums and comprised of sundry industrial artefacts, ranging from steam engines and devices for testing materials to music boxes. The collection was supplemented with information panels and an audio-visual "superstructure". With it, Technorama achieved a certain degree of fame, for instance, with the "Spitlight", the world's largest slide projector.

1984

In 1984, the "Phenomena" science exhibition was held in Zurich. Following the didactic principles of the German educationalist Hugo Kükelhaus, the exhibition presented approximately 200 natural phenomena and experiments involving water, mechanics, acoustics, light and colour, many of which were in the form of sensory hands-on exhibits. Due to its success, the exhibition was subsequently presented in South Africa, in the Netherlands, in Germany and then again in Zurich and attracted more than 5.4 million visitors.

1985

But even this 18-metre-long monstrosity designed by the Ticinese tinkerer and aircraft engineer Gianni Andreoli was not able to circumvent the fact that fewer and fewer visitors were interested in obsolete installations and machines. In 1985, as the number of visitors continued to decline almost completely, Technorama faced serious financial troubles and bankruptcy.

1990

The former director of Technorama Remo Besio (1940 -2016) was also enthusiastic about phenomena. In June 1990, a new mission statement was adopted which, on the one hand, was based on Hugo Kükelhaus's principles and, on the other hand, took up the idea behind the Anglo-Saxon science centres, in particular the Exploratorium in San Francisco. Inspired by Frank Oppenheimer (USA), Richard Gregory, Steven Pizzey (both UK) and based on the comprehensive collection of technical reports and evaluations from the American Association of Science and Technology Centers ASTC, steps would be taken to gradually transform Technorama into an interactive science centre.

2000

By 2000, the technical museum was systematically transformed into a science center. In November 2013, the name was officially changed from "Foundation Technorama of Switzerland, Science and Technology in a Living Exhibition" to the "Swiss Science Center Technorama". Since then Technorama has been a diverse and atmospheric experimental exhibition dedicated to learning with a strong element of play.

2003

This reorientation led not only to an encouraging increase in the number of visitors, but also to a sharp increase in the number of youth visiting, including pre-school age children. The Youth Lab, which canton Zurich had furnished and operated in 1982 as a supplement to the Technorama museum, was organizationally affiliated with Technorama in 2003.

2012

In a further stage of development, this Youth Lab was refurbished in 2012, allowing for a significant expansion of its exisiting offerings. In the Swiss Science Center, there are now seven labs – two each for biology, chemistry and physics labs, supplemented by an atelier with workbenches for workshops geared towards a more constructive approach. Some 70,000 students visit Technorama within the framework of a class trip every year, making it the largest out-of-school learning institution for the sciences in Switzerland. With its offerings in the exhibitions and labs, it shapes the manner in which the sciences are appreciated, learned and taught in Switzerland.

Wie alles begann

Die Geschichte des Technorama ist eng mit der ehemaligen Industriestadt Winterthur verbunden. Die Namen von Unternehmen wie die Maschinenfabrik Rieter & Cie., die mechanische Spinnerei Hard oder die Eisengiesserei Johann Jacob Sulzer, aus der das spätere Grossunternehmen Sulzer werden sollte, sind vielen nur noch als Bushaltestellen bekannt.

Heute ist das Technorama das erste Science Center der Schweiz und eines der grössten in Europa. Es bietet ein einzigartiges Angebot an Ausstellungen, Vorführungen und Laboren und weckt mit verblüffenden Erfahrungen von Naturphänomenen Interesse, Begeisterung und Verständnis für naturwissenschaftliche und technische Fragestellungen.

1947

Bereits 1947 wurde ein Verein zur Gründung eines technischen Museums der Schweiz ins Leben gerufen. Dafür wurden historisch interessante Objekte zusammengetragen, hauptsächlich aus den Beständen der Industrieunternehmen der Stadt Winterthur und des Schweizer Maschinenbaus im «Goldenen Dreieck» Winterthur-Zürich-Baden.

1969

Unter der Bezeichnung TECHNORAMA DER SCHWEIZ wurde am 26. Juni 1969 eine Stiftung gegründet, deren Zweckbestimmung eine Einrichtung vorsah, die «vorab als Bildungsstätte dient, indem [sie] Wissenschaft und Technik in lebendiger Schau zur Darstellung bringt (…)». Dieser Zweck sollte in Form einer musealen Ausstellung verwirklicht werden, die wiederum einer breiten Öffentlichkeit den direkten und experimentellen Umgang mit diesen Themen ermöglichen sollte.

1982

Nach dem Vorbild von konventionellen technischen Museen präsentierte das Technorama 1982 eine Ausstellung mit allerlei industriellen Artefakten, angefangen bei Dampfmaschinen über Werkstoffprüfgeräten bis hin zu Musikdosen. Die Sammlung wurde mit Texttafeln und einem audiovisuellen «Überbau» ergänzt. Damit brachte es das Technorama zu einiger Berühmtheit, etwa mit dem Spitlight, dem grössten Diaprojektor der Welt.

1984

1984 fand in Zürich die naturwissenschaftliche Ausstellung Phänomena statt. Die Schau, die den didaktischen Grundsätzen des deutschen Pädagogen Hugo Kükelhaus verpflichtet war, präsentierte rund 200 Naturphänomene und Experimente zu Themen wie Wasser, Mechanik, Akustik, Licht und Farbe; viele davon in Form von sinnlichen hands-on Exponaten.

Die erfolgreiche Ausstellung wurde später in Südafrika, in den Niederlanden, in Deutschland und nochmals in Zürich gezeigt und zog mehr als 5,4 Millionen Besucherinnen und Besucher an.

1985

Aber selbst dieses 18-Meter-lange Ungetüm des Tessiner Tüftlers und Flugzeugingenieurs Gianni Andreoli konnte nicht verhindern, dass sich immer weniger Besucher für veraltete Anlagen und Maschinen interessierten und schliesslich fast ganz wegblieben. 1985 drohte dem Technorama der Konkurs.

1990

Von der Phänomena begeistert war auch der damalige Direktor des Technorama Remo Besio (1940 -2016). Im Juni 1990 wurde ein neues Leitbild verabschiedet, das einerseits auf den Grundsätzen von Hugo Kükelhaus aufbaute, andererseits die Idee hinter den angelsächsischen Science Centern aufgriff, namentlich des Exploratorium in San Francisco. Inspiriert von Frank Oppenheimer (USA), Richard Gregory, Steven Pizzey (beide UK) und auf der Basis der umfassenden Sammlung von Fachberichten und Evaluationen der amerikanischen Association of Science and Technology Centers ASTC sollte das Technorama sukzessive zu einem interaktiven Wissenschaftsmuseum umgewandelt werden.

2000

Die planmässige Umwandlung von einem technischen Museum in ein Science Center konnte 2000 erfolgreich abgeschlossen werden. Im November 2013 wurde die Namensänderung von «Stiftung Technorama der Schweiz, Wissenschaft und Technik in lebendiger Schau» in «Swiss Science Center Technorama» öffentlich beurkundet. Seitdem präsentiert sich das Technorama als eine vielfältige und stimmungsvolle Experimentierausstellung, die zum spielerischen Lernen anregt.

2003

Diese Neuorientierung führte nicht nur zu erfreulichen Steigerung der Besucherzahlen, sondern auch zu einem sprunghaften Anstieg und Anteil von Jugendlichen und Kindern ab der Vorschulstufe. Das Jugendlabor, welches der Kanton Zürich 1982 in Ergänzung zum musealen Technorama eingerichtet und betrieben hatte, wurde 2003 dem Technorama organisatorisch angegliedert.

2012

In einem weiteren Ausbauschritt wurde dieses Jugendlabor 2012 umgebaut und die darin stattfindenden Angebote stark erweitert. Neu befinden sich im Swiss Science Center sieben Labore – je zwei Biologie-, Chemie- und Physiklabore, ergänzt um ein Atelier mit Werkbänken für mehr konstruktiv ausgerichtete Workshops. Mit jährlich 70‘000 Schülerinnen und Schüler, welche das Technorama im Rahmen einer Klassenfahrt besuchen, ist es der grösste ausserschulische Lernort der Schweiz. Mit seinen Angeboten in den Ausstellungen und den Laboren prägt es die Art und Weise mit, wie Naturwissenschaften in der Schweiz wahrgenommen, gelernt und vermittelt werden.